90% Talent, 10% Equipment?

Discussion in 'General Fishing' started by Isuck@fishing, Mar 23, 2020.

1. Isuck@fishing

Isuck@fishing Member

Ratings:
    +18
    Both in golf and fishing I have never been one to invest a ton of money in equipment. I think skill and talent are 90% and equipment is 10%. But, open to hear different viewpoints..

I have been using a $40 pole that I bought for my 6 yr. old son from True Value Hardware. Lol. I believe that came with a cheap 4# test line. Taking it to the bay I kept getting snapped off. So I bought heavier line. Then eventually, being a newbie, I thought it would just be easy to buy a reel that came with a 14# test line, and just replace the store bought reel so I can just interchange the reels vs. manually replacing the lines. The cheap Walmart reel is so heavy in comparison to the rod that the rod is not very sensitive, but I still manage to catch 6-15 fish.

If it weren't for my wife buying me a nice 7 ft Shimano pole from Turners I would have never known that you can't just put any reel on any rod. It is light weight, sensitive, and way easier to have a feel for timing setting the hook. I only use 6# test. Can you put #20 test on any rod? Is there a formula or chart to heaviness of line, rod size or thickness?

In short, I am shore fisher, frequently go to the jetty, mission bay, san diego bay, etc. I am not venturing out too much. When I get big tugs, and I go to set the hook, the fish takes everything, and I am left reeling in an empty line. I have tripled checked my technique on knots that is a variable I believe is not a factor.

I would like to buy another rod. One that can support #15-#20, have good feel, and have one rod I can "sit and get" while I pull in 9-13" fish on my other rod. I just want to know that IF something 16" or more were to hit my line that equipment is not a factor. If I lose it - it points directly back to I am doing something wrong.