A Fishing Report - 5/28

Discussion in 'Barrett Reports' started by Baja Belk, May 31, 2022.

1. Baja Belk

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +150
    I'm not a Big B vet, though I've been a few times. I'm not even a good bass fisherman. In fact, if I had to choose from all the different types of fishing to do, bass fishing would be low on the totem pole. However, I really look forward to the one time a year (or every 3 years, lately) I get to wake up at an ungodly hour and drive out to the sticks and drop a kayak into this big beautiful serene lake and try to catch a fish I'm not very good at catching.

I was lucky this time to bring a Barrett virgin, my good friend who is a kayak fanatic (he has 5), and recently has been focusing on improving his fishing game which blossomed much later than his general love of kayaking. He was kind enough to let me borrow his older Hobie Outback, since my 'yak is a Malibu and I had never experienced mirage-drive. Man, what a game-changer.

He didn't want to wake up as early as I told him we should, and I didn't argue that hard since I had been up at 0300 and tuna-fishing all day Friday. So I knew it was going to be a long one.

We were on the water at 0500 just as it was getting light, but I'm sure we missed some topwater opportunities in the 45 min it took to get back into Pine. I got two quickly on the black buzz bait and then one on a pop-r, and he went 1 for 3 on a propped Spook style bait. Hey, at least we're on the board. It got really quiet and I think in hind-sight we wasted way too much time in the same brushy cove chasing intermittent blowups. Frog, chatterbait, senko, spinnerbait, etc were not getting bites.