Artificial Baits in Mission Bay

Discussion in 'Bay Fishing' started by smitty2124, May 17, 2018.

1. smitty2124

smitty2124 Member

Ratings:
    +51
    Hey all!

I'm new to the forum and am looking for some advice! I live in AZ and come out to SD regularly to fish Mission and SD bay. In the past I have always just fished from the shore using squid on a Carolina rig or a plastic swim bait and did pretty well with the spotties and rays. I recently got a vibe kayak and will now be more mobile with my fishing! I fish a lot in az and only use artificial baits for LMB. I was wondering what types of artificial baits are used in the salt water application. I have a lot of experience with t-rigs, jigs, drop shot, and Carolina rigs, but never in a saltwater application. How different are the presentations and riggings? Any help is appreciated! Not looking for any secret spots or baits, just some general knowledge for a novice salt water angler!

Thanks guys and tight lines!

2. dj thrillz

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +10,994
    Whatever you do in FW will work in SW. Seriously. One of my favorite ways to fish from on the water is to cast back towards the shore, dragging it back through the weedbeds. The other way is casting along the weedbeds on the outer portion of them, working your bait parallel to the shore.
    Anything 3"-5" that has a curltail will almost always produce. Paddletails will get the job done as well, but my go to will always be the curltail. Paddletails are baits that need to keep moving to get the attention of fish, whereas curltail still can have a little action deadsticked, at least better action than paddletails. Never rule out crankbaits. Anything that dives 6'-10' works great in MB.

• Agree Agree x 5
    • Like Like x 3
    • Helpful Helpful x 3
    • List
  3. Jenx

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +3,379