Barrett Structure Advice for Fly Fishing

Discussion in 'Barrett Lake' started by wbttk, May 13, 2019.

1. wbttk

wbttk Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +69
    Hi Everyone,

I'm very new to fishing freshwater bass, but do a lot of bay bass fly fishing from skiffs/float tube. Primarily I'm fishing sand and grass flats in the bay, and have learned how to how catch SBB on streamers there. I'm trying to transition that type of fishing to Barrett (which I just got tix for).

Thing is though, I went to San Vicente yesterday (my first time ever to a bass lake around here) and found that seemingly the whole lake is near vertical drop offs from shore, and the boat needs to be almost right up on the shore to effectively fish there. It was perfect for senkos, but with fly fishing, I'd get maybe one cast in before the rental skiff drifted ever so slightly off the shore and immediately the water would hit 50-100 ft. Really hard to fly fish that without a trolling motor or float tube where you can maintain proximity to the shore in the wind.

My question is, is Barrett the same type of deep water/vertical dropoff reservoir as Vicente, and are there any shallower 8-20ft deep flats areas that I can fish on a sinking line with clousers/woolly buggers etc? I'm looking for the type of structure that you'd throw spinnerbaits through grass beds, like on the bays. I can see why such vertical/deep structure is best fished with a trolling motor on a boat or from a float tube where you can control how close to the shore you are, but I'm renting a skiff on Barrett (like I did on Vicente) and really trying to figure out if there are any gradual slopes or shallower ledges/flats on Barrett to make it easier for me to use bay tactics on Barrett bass.