Bass guy new to salt

Discussion in 'Private Boaters and General Saltwater' started by EpicBassMaster, Jun 12, 2021.

1. EpicBassMaster

EpicBassMaster New Member

Ratings:
    +4
    Name:
    BigBassMaster
    Just moved to San Diego and looking to get into salt after spending 30 years chasing largemouths. I have no idea about equipment needed for the Point Loma boat trips. Can someone give me a shopping list of what you suggest for the kelp bed trips? I have pretty light bass rigs (15 pound test) so I assume this might not be enough. Guy at PL sportfishing said 20lb would be more ideal. Should I just rent a rig? Curious how much I would need to invest for a semi decent rig for these trips. Are the tuna trips all inclusive? What would I need to have for these? I assume complete newbs to fishing in general sign up for these trips and need more hand holding than an experienced bait caster bass guy. Just looking for advice on how to get started. I’m totally new to salt. Been hitting Miramar shorelines catching bass but I need to step up to salt. It’s time. Your tips are appreciated. Just trying to learn the game before signing up. Links to recommend combo rig purchase options would be cool too.

2. EpicBassMaster

EpicBassMaster New Member

Ratings:
    +4
    Name:
    BigBassMaster
  3. Werfless

Werfless The Coach ..RIP my friends
    SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +58,428
    Name:
    D/Daniel/Coach/Werf
    Boat:
    One too many
    Come over and pick my brain, or fish with me around sunset when I head out. I have gear to get you started easily enough, as cheap as you will find it. Bring a bottle or a couple beers for me if you like, doesn't have to be costly. I can save you some money, time and hassle, more likely than not

• Like Like x 8
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. dmorgan3

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +3,969