Boots

Discussion in 'Bay fishing' started by Carterantebi, Feb 28, 2017.

1. Carterantebi

Carterantebi The Skunk Magnet
    SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +5,344
    Name:
    Carter
    Boat:
    Bayliner+Hobie Revo
    Sorry, didn't want to hijack @Cyborgstarfish 's thread, but I'm mainly wondering about boots. I used to have American-made XtraTufs before they got bought out and moved production to China. I grew out of the USAs, got the Chinese made ones, and wasn't too pleased. They weren't very comfortable, they gave me rashes on the top of my feet, and they only lasted a few months. Then last week I just wore my Vans, which were just fine, and much more comfortable, until low tide rolled in, and I was sinking pretty good at times. Anyone know if the XT quality has gone up, or if there are better alternatives? I'm a sailing instructor during the summer, and a lot of the guys I know there wear Gill for everything, and they all say they like the Gill deck boots too. Look pretty good to me. They even kinda look like my Vans! IMG_0190.JPG

2. Fat Spottie

Fat Spottie SDRC Neophytes: 9
    SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +2,327
    Boat:
    Broken Yak
    I've worn XTs for years and never had an issue with rashes.. my latest pair I bought back in June and are fine, lasted 4 days a week all summer, no tearing or ripping.

3. Carterantebi

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +5,344
    Name:
    Carter
    Boat:
    Bayliner+Hobie Revo
    Odd, I got mine around the same time, maybe a little earlier, and they didn't survive the summer, and I wasn't wearing them 4 days a week either.

4. Fat Spottie

Fat Spottie SDRC Neophytes: 9
    SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +2,327
    Boat:
    Broken Yak
    It may have been a flaw.. Do remember when the neoprene settles it different with every pair. Also I'd wear Ronstan over Gill booties, those things had great grip and durability back were the go to when I raced Lasers.

5. Rasamufasa

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +154
    Name:
    Matthew