Coyote hunting?

Discussion in 'Hunting & Firearms' started by Swgityswag, Feb 19, 2021.

1. Swgityswag

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +1,060
    Hi yall:

Haven't posted in a while, school started and have been quite busy, and also because the hunting trips that we have gone on have been absolute trash lol. The spots I liked for rabbits and quails was incredibly dead after mid January so didn't have a trip worth posting. Now that rabbit season have ended I still want to be out there hunting lol so I am thinking about getting a yote. I am very new to coyote hunting and hunting in general so any tips would be greatly appreciated! I got a double cotton tail call and full body camo, I am thinking about hunting with a .357 rifle near mount laguna(Not the rec area just near it). Thinking about just walking in the canyons until I see tracks and then I will set up and start calling. Please feel free to call me an idiot if Im doing something wrong lol Thanks!

2. William Ritchie

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +7,774
    Name:
    WjRitchie
    Generally they can be called in close . .357 mag will do the job and it is totally legal in the books . I have shot and skinned many , maybe to many to be proud of , but gave it up when I realized I like dogs and have a respect for the coyotes durability . Now is a good time because the pelts will be in good condition . I do not want to thwart your hunting , but if it were me I would hunt them with a camera , just me talking . You will have all the thrill of the hunt . If you want a nice pelt , by all means do it , just be aware of the mess and left overs that most will leave . If you have no adversion to eating them , that is a whole different story . Jack Rabbits are highly under rated as far as table fare , good in a crock pot . They are also open year round . Turkey season opens the 27th of March and will give a better game to chase . You will have a good amount of time to scout them out . Good Luck out there ! WR

• Like Like x 3