Daiwa Saltist west coast

Discussion in 'Surf, Piers, & Jetties' started by Bassmann86, May 20, 2021.

1. Bassmann86

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +732
    Good morning SDfish

I recently stumbled across this rod on tackle warehouse. The specs seem promising and the price is very reasonable. Does anybody have any experience with this rod? Thanks

2. Midnightpass

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +1,386
    I have no experience with them, but out of curiosity, which model are you thinking of?... Daiwa makes some great rods..
    Butch.

3. Bassmann86

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +732
    I’m actually going to go with a Black hole Suzuki 10’ 1/2-2oz 10-20lbs braid mod fast to toss hard baits for halibut

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. Midnightpass

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +1,386
    That rod gets some great reviews... I was gonna get it as well, but went with the Dark Matter OB Surf instead... The reason I did was that I didn't like the long but end of the rod... More of an "East Coast" type rod... But a lot of guys really like the Suzuki and the longer butt... Enjoy your new toy...When are you supposed to get it, or have you?.. Give us a equipment report..
    Butch

5. Bassmann86

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +732
    I’m actually going to order it up after work today. I don’t mind the longer butt section on the rods. How do you like the dark matter ob?

6. Rawdeezy

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +518
    I think squidco has this rod in shop if you’d like to take a closer look. I have it paired with the coastal 150!

7. Peter86

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +1,074
    Name:
    Peter J Sandoval
    I feel like I saw this while at anglers choice the other day as well.

8. Midnightpass

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +1,386
    It does what I ask very well, but I’m used a slower, lighter rod, so this one feels just a little different to me.. It cast its range very well, and is sensitive, I just need to get used to it.
    Butch

9. Shane T.

Shane T. Well-Known Member

Ratings: