El Cap - 3/7

Discussion in 'Freshwater Reports' started by bbermingham, Mar 7, 2014.

1. bbermingham

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +36
    Boat:
    Ranger Reata VS190
    Nothing beats escaping from work early on a Friday afternoon and doing a little bit of fishing! :D

I rushed home, grabbed one rod and threw a few bags of worms and craws in my backpack and headed Eastbound for my first attempt at shore fishing El Capitan. I got there right at 3:58 PM (fortunately! the sign says no entry after 4PM), paid my fees and hit the shore towards the dam. There were a couple of fellow shore walkers (hardly any boats at this point in the day) in what looked to be the prime spots, so I found a part of the beach to claim and went to work.

I'm pretty new to bass fishing (grew up in NorCal hunting trout with my Dad) and am trying to learn/absorb all that I can. I'm used to being skunked quite a bit (Murray is my nemesis), but the last three times I've gone, I've begun to feel the tide turning in my favor. With three kids and a wife, I don't get out as much as I'd like but I'm finally seeing some progress and I have to thank everyone on the sdfish forums (I've been lurking here for a while) for being willing to share so much info!

Still hunting a beauty worthy enough to weigh for my PB, but I caught this decent girl at 5:17 PM:

QwU8amt.jpg

2. fisheromen

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +29,860
    Boat:
    1986 Glastron
    You must have the bug pretty badly to pay $8 for an hour and change. I have had MUCH better results with the Drop-shot presentation than shakey head.

Congrats on graduating from lurker to poster.

3. bbermingham

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +36
    Boat:
    Ranger Reata VS190
    It was a pretty rough week at work and fishing is the best remedy for me, so the $8 was well worth it. :)