Fishing LJ

Discussion in 'Private Boaters and General Saltwater' started by HamSupLo, Sep 25, 2019.

1. HamSupLo

HamSupLo Member

Ratings:
    +80
    Name:
    JDubb
    I have been a long time lurker, and I thought I would start sharing some of my experiences on the water in this thread.

A little about me, I have been a local SD resident all my life and have been fishing for over 20 years in our backyard. I'm primarily a salt fan, and most of my experience comes from either fishing from shore, kayak, charter, and now finally from my own personal boat. What a journey it has been, and I find myself learning something new every time I spend the day on the water. Fishing is a very humbling sport that we all enjoy, and I think that's what I enjoy most about it. I'm a novice at best, so please feel free to share any thoughts or suggestions.

LJ report for -9/21
    On Friday night the wife says "we aren't doing anything tomorrow, why don't you go out and fish in the morning", me: "Are you sure, (half second pause)…….OK!)

Launched out of Dana Landing solo at 730am with the plans to target rock fish for dinner. I arrive at the BB soon after, and the bait looks really good compared to the thin pickings we have been getting lately, so I through a tip at the guys and Im off to LJ. The water on the way up was still pretty green, I had water in the 69 range. I started of fishing in 80-90'. Slow bite for most of the morning, managed to hook a few sclupin (smaller variety). Lots of folks out on Saturday, and from what I could tell no one was getting much action.

Right around 11am the bite picked up for the next hr. I managed a few calicos and called it quits after I had my red and sheephead in the bag for the wife's dinner plans. Overall great day, and I feel like I have the boat almost dialed in to where I want it.

Look forward to posting more. Thank you all for this awesome site. If you see me out there be sure to say hi!

LJ Sheephead 09212019.JPG

Capture.JPG