float tube questions

Discussion in 'Float Tubing' started by mikecheck1212, Mar 25, 2011.

1. mikecheck1212

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +5,724
    ok so im sick of fishing off the rocks and was thinking of getting a float tube...i have no knowledge on the subject and hoped maybe some of you more knowledgable float tubers can help me out...i was thinking about the pontoon ones i have seen online...simply because it looks like you stay dry...no im not afraid to get wet..i just wanted to do some fishing in the san diego river and would like to reduce my risk of rashes and other stuff...also some of them had mounts for a little trolling motor which i thought would be cool too...i would also like to use the tube in the calmer parts of the bay as well...any suggestions on whats good...whats mandatory..what i can do without...and anything else i may need to know before making an investment...thanks in advance...

2. jdogg

jdogg Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I have had a float tube for about 5 years now. I don't know much about the pontoon boats other then they are expensive.

In a float tube you do stay dry somewhat if you are wearing chest waders. If you get a float tube look online first then when you buy it try it out in a swimming pool first to see if you will slip out of it or not (it does happen).

You will need chest waders, fins (diving fins work best for me) the float tube, and a life jacket. read up on what you need before you buy. http://www.sandiego.gov/water/recreatio ... oats.shtml

The point of having a float tube or pontoon is to be quite so i would not get a trolling motor for it.

Hope that helped and welcome to the forum.

ohh yah idk if its still going on but check this out
    viewtopic.php?f=16&t=104573

and about a week ago i bought some waders form turners for 64 bucks to bad i didn't see the above thread in time

one more thing if you have a motor on your boat at some lakes you will have to pay the launch fee. but not at all lakes