Float tube questions

Discussion in 'Bay Fishing' started by Xolaris, Mar 13, 2017.

1. Xolaris

Xolaris midshipman fisher
    SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +1,014
    Hi all, I was wondering how to get started on flost tube fishing in the bay. I need help on what I would need to get started with and the price range. Also recommendations and tips are also useful. Im a newbie when it comes to float tube, any advice would help. Thanks.

2. SSUfish

SSUfish Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +119
    Name:
    Eric
    Float tubes are float tubes. I would certainly suggest a quality pair of fins if you are going to tube the main part of the bay at all. The tide and rip through there can be serious and boaters rarely see us in the water. I'm partial to large spinner baits and 3-4" fish traps with Unibutter slow rolled on the bottom. Bring a plastic bag to put your phone and/or other electronics in. Finding a safe place to launch sometimes is tricky, I always bring a pair of socks to wear over my waders (on the feet) so I don't tear them.

Don't be shy of fishing in-between moored boats, but don't hit them when you cast. There are certainly some crazies that live on them but also quite a few nice ones that will take a picture of you with your fish too. Looking forward to a report!

#2 SSUfish, Mar 13, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2017
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
    • List
  3. chris cox

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +365