Garage sale rod rebuild..

Discussion in 'Freshwater' started by I-am-Will, Jan 25, 2021.

1. I-am-Will

I-am-Will Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +308
    Name:
    William
    Hey guys, want your opinion on this dumb little side project, and if you think it will be worth a trip out to a few lakes. Please remember this is my FIRST attempt at building a fishing rod, and i had a budget of 20$. I got the rod from a garage sale for $1.50. And in the condition it was in, it could have been overpriced for that minimal cost. Im assuming it was from the 60-70s, and just beat to hell. It had no reel, and the cork grip was so badly tore up and dry rotted it just fell off in my hand.

this was an 8 foot fiberglass fly rod. The lower 3.5 feet were so chipped up they would not have handled any load without breaking. So I cropped it down to a tiny pole. All the eyelets were broken, so i replaced those. I built the wrapping rig out of some cork foam i had laying around. The tensioner for the thread was the spinner reel. (It worked surprisingly well) I used some heavier fly tying thread to wrap on the eyelets(just spooled it on to the reel, set the tension low but not off), then a small amount of flexible resin to coat them after wrapping. The handle is just survival para cord, again held on with a small amount of flexible resin. I originally put on this 10$ spinner reel i had laying around, but was given the low pro kastking baitcaster that looks better, but is probably way overkill for this rod.