How long to keep fish

Discussion in 'Sport Boats' started by Bird334, Jul 6, 2020.

1. Bird334

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +788
    I am planning a fishing trip up north. If I catch a bunch of rockfish, how many days can I keep in ice cooler without going bad? Before you get home to freeze it.

#1 Bird334, Jul 6, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2020
  2. kyle12345

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +4,534
    Name:
    Kyle
    They say you can refrigerate fish a few days but I would be concerned that a cooler would be cold enough to keep fish for days at a time. I am no expert, but you would have to keep it pretty cold. No place where you can put it in a fridge anywhere? If you are in a hotel, you can request one with a fridge.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  3. VinnyBass

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +13,935
    If you can get some dry ice.........and put them in a styrofoam container and seal it maybe????
    Deb ordered steaks a couple times from Omaha Steaks and they notify you when the package will be delivered. I was there and the steaks were still frozen inside when I opened up the styrofoam container. It was like putting my hand in a freezer. There was a block of dry ice sealed in a plastic wrap on the bottom.
    I was amazed...but it worked. Anyway...just a thought.
    This is what they come in.
    styrofoam-cooler-from-Omaha-Steaks.jpg

#3 VinnyBass, Jul 6, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2020
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
    • List
  4. Werfless

Werfless The Coach ..RIP my friends
    SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +48,873
    Name:
    D/Daniel/Coach/Werf
    Boat:
    One too many
    Mix of ice and dry ice will freeze them solid in a commercial grade foam cooler. Remember, small coolers packed well are generally more efficient than a huge cooler poorly packed.. ice on bottom, dry ice on top, occupy all empty space with towels if possible....

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
    • Like Like x 1