I have 1 Shimano baitcaster that always backlashes. Any advice?

Discussion in 'Fishing Tackle' started by Skunked_Again, Sep 6, 2018.

1. Skunked_Again

Skunked_Again Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +76
    I have a Shimano Chronarch 200E7 that I almost never use because I get the worst backlashes every time I use it. I'm no newbie to Shimano baitcasters. Over the last 20 years, I've had 2 Curados and a Citica. I love them like they are my children. I can cast on breakers all day and not get a back lash with those reels, but 3-4 cast with the Chronarch and there's an eagle nest in it. I've had it about 3 years now and it's never performed. I have the spool breakers and tension set the same way I've been doing it for 20+ years with my other Shimanos. I've tried adjusting these to add more and less tension, but no luck.
    It's a bummer because the Chronarch is the most expensive of all of my freshwater reels and so far it's also the biggest piece of crap I own.
    Do you guys have any advice? All my other Shimano reels are awesome. Did I just get a lemon? Is there something else I can try to fix it?

PS: If I can't fix it, does anyone want to buy a Shimano Chronarch? It works perfect. Best reel I've ever had. I'll make you a deal. :)

Thanks!
    Chris

2. swings are free

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +4,670
    My only guess is somthings up with the brakes.

3. Burro707

Burro707 Member

Ratings:
    +3
    From experience If I back lash at the beginning of a cast it's the tension knob that needs adjusting, if the backlash is at the tail end, it's the brakes that need adjusting. Sometimes having the drag on to high can lead to line digging in the spool and causing backlash or spool freezing up.
    I only use power pro braid on my reels.

4. oh da shiz

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +1,856
    Boat:
    Ranger Z21
    That reel is garbage and I'll take it off your hand and dispose of it properly into my rod locker.......