Kayaking Murray 9/18/22

Discussion in 'Freshwater Reports' started by CorsoEnthusiast, Sep 20, 2022.

1. CorsoEnthusiast

CorsoEnthusiast Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +377
    Name:
    Jeremy
    3292A4AB-D72A-4375-AAE3-6B77DC2B1DDB.jpeg Decided to take the Kayak for its first Murray trip on Sunday afternoon. It was a beautiful day out and I figured I needed to get on the water. I waited for the first round of football games to end and then headed out.

This being only my 3rd time out in the Kayak, I am still learning a bunch on every trip. The biggest challenge is dealing with drift! Trying to focus on a specific area while not staying put is a challenge - I ended up sort of pedaling back into place and drifting past the same spot multiple times. I am pretty sure in March when bonus time comes I am going to upgrade to the Autopilot for that spot lock trolling motor! Lol

I worked a few spots - had a couple fish bite my dropshot weight (seems to happen once every trip). Had one fish about 2-5-3lbs bite the S Waver and throw the bait when he jumped. Finally managed to boat one on the DS just before 5pm. Not a big guy but dink > skunk any day!

I really love fishing out of the Kayak. Still learning it’s challenges but I am catching a few fish and having a great time, and I know every trip the learning curve gets easier and easier.

On a side note, when I was pedaling back to the dock at day’s end, the crank arm bolt on the left side of my pedal drive backed out and fell through one of the scupper holes on the Kayak - so I’ve got to visit a few hardware stores and maybe West Marine this week before I can head out again.
    FCC92C1F-959F-4E88-8EC7-5DDB7284E2C4.jpeg

2. Neuroshima

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +5,570
    I just started using a cloth grocery bag as a driftsock and it worked well to slow my drift. It cost me literally nothing and only took a few minutes to make, so something to consider.

• Like Like x 5
    • Helpful Helpful x 4
    • List