Looking for my first custom rod

Discussion in 'Rod Building & Repair' started by joem83, Nov 1, 2021.

1. joem83

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +2,383
    I'm seriously thinking about going to Cedros next year to experience that amazing fishery, and in preparation for it I'd like to get a custom rod built. I'm looking at the United Composites GP 80 Mega seems like it would be a great choice with the 20-50 lb line and 1-7 oz lure rating. Also, those specs seem like it would be great for all kinds of other fishing too, like dropper looping on the half day, or live baiting for smaller tuna/yellowtail on the full days/overnights.

Anyways, I'm looking for input on the blank choice and also a recommendation for a rod builder I could hire to build it for me.

Thanks in advance!

2. K-Bo Smack

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +5,037
    Name:
    Keath
    I'm still a novice wrapper. but...
    I put a manufacturing engineer's hat on during the day to support my fishing addition and have many years of experience inspecting products. I've inspected and run metrology reports on several blank manufactures and so far, Rainshadow consistently delivers outstanding product. I've wrapped 3 for myself (another RS on the wrapper now with a jig blank up next) and really enjoy fishing with them. You may want to give them a look.

JDGLB80M, RCJB96H, RCLB80M are blanks that may hit your sweetspot.