Sitting tube

Discussion in 'Float Tubing' started by Fishferdayzzz, Aug 23, 2019.

1. Fishferdayzzz

Fishferdayzzz Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +75
    I got a fish cat 4 that’s been sitting in my attic for at least 4 years without use. Mainly because I been going on my friends boat but unfortunately he moved away and imma get back into tubing. Main question is have you guys ever had a problem with a tube sitting for a while? Not trying to figure out if it’s going to deflate while I’m out in the bay haha. It does get pretty hot up there so it probably want the best place to store it. I’m gonna inflate it today but I don’t think it’s the same as putting weight on it while on the water. I’m still gonna figure it out one way or another just wanted your guys opinion

2. carpkiller

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +2,592
    So the tube that I've been using for a couple of years was leaking more and more. It seeped a little air, even when new. So I unpacked the other one that I bought new 15 years ago (wife never got around to using it). It's been baking in the shed since then. It not only holds air....it doesn't seep at all!
    Even my leaky old tube never lost enough air to sink, and it didn't seem to leak any faster with my big carcASS in the seat. After two or three hours, it would ride kinda low, I carried a bit of hose so I could refill it when the waves were splashing my reels.
    Pump it up...if it doesn't go flat overnight, go for it. 180808 ScorcherZ Bonefish SD Bay SQ CROP.jpg

3. toolbox

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +2,311
    Yep, pump it up, spray it down with a fabric conditioner and take it for a spin. That tube has two bladders and foam seats so you won't sink.

• Like Like x 2
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
    • List
  4. Dry Fly Rie

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +526
    If you've got access to a nearby pool, give it a test run there to make sure it floats.

5. Fishferdayzzz

Ratings:
    +75