Windows Support Scam

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by fisheromen, May 29, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fisheromen

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +18,960
    Boat:
    1986 Glastron
    I feel extremely foolish admitting this but I fell for the Indian "Windows Support" scam. At the end I would not pay the ransom and my computer was locked up. It is currently in the shop. It was a cold call that started, "I am a technician with Windows and I am calling about a problem with your computer." (heavy accent) Guys name was Mark Miller. (yeah right)

If you get ANY call and hear an Indian accent saying something about your computer, hang up! I have not been this angry in a good while!

Hope this will help someone.

• Helpful Helpful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  2. bassgalrascal

Staff Member SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +2,301
    Windows never contacts you by phone. They contact you through your system. I have had viruses attack my computer before though. I let my malware protection lapse and fell for a Adobe Flashware update alert. I managed to get rid of that on my own. Also one got into our dualsport forum and reeked havoc. I had to send the computer out to unhack it that time. I run Webroot malware protection these days. It is very effective, and I haven't had any problems for a few years now.

• Helpful Helpful x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  3. Larry M

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +7,960
    Name:
    Larry M
    I get these calls all the time, that my computer has a virus or malware. I just tell them that I'm an IT technical, but that doesn't always stop them. Sometimes they will ask how I would stop such a such virus or malware, I just tell them that I'm not going to tell them what I do to fix the problem. It's funny when they keep trying. I then say no thanks and hang up.
    I don't have a life. LOL
    Also when home improvement people call I just tell them that I'm a contractor.

#3 Larry M, May 29, 2017