Winter Spotty Fishing Techniques

Discussion in 'Bay Fishing' started by Aweisman18, Nov 6, 2019.

1. Aweisman18

Aweisman18 Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +51
    Hello, I am a first year college student at the University of San Diego and I have been fishing for spottys every once in a while for the last couple of years. I was wondering if any local fisherman have experience catching bass during the winter time. I am not asking for fishing spots, but techniques and areas to look for. Thanks for any input in advance.

2. MichaelOfishing

MichaelOfishing Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +110
    Anywhere you find with some spread out grass and current, some gulp shrimp on a texas rig usually does the trick. Its almost like cheating sometimes with the gulp stuff. I personally would just say try some slower plastic techniques like drop shotting and if they arent keyed in on that try to spook them a little and get a reaction bite by popping something flashy infront of them like a bigger kastmaster. You can also get some decent schooling sandies if you have a set up where you can cast far enough. My best luck with with the sandys is usually at shelter but I cant speak for all shore fishing since I usually just take the kayak out instead of shore.

• Agree Agree x 5
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  3. Aweisman18

Ratings:
    +51
    Thanks for the advice. I hope drop shotting will be effective. I typically use 6lb test with a braid backing which is light but I haven’t had many problems. I’ll use a size 4 or 6 hook when the grass isn’t a problem otherwise a 2/0 Texas hook.

#3 Aweisman18, Nov 6, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2019
  4. F1$H

SDFish VIP

Ratings:
    +539
    Boat:
    Hobie Revo 13
    They seem to be more honed in on shrimp-like baits. The advice above is on point. My go to is the ned rig. Also the swimming mullet, like rodney marquez uses. He has plenty of spotty vids that he shot in the winter that will give you all that you need.

5. toddamus