2018 Expected San Diego Grunion Runs

Grunion spawn (run) during the 4 days surrounding full and new moon cycles from March through August. Please note that the two month period in April and May is closed, “observation only” meaning you cannot collect or even handle the grunion. For information on the grunion runs in San Diego, and how to take advantage of them for some of the best halibut, corvina and calico bass fishing of the year, check out Grunion Season Presents Opportunity for Anglers.

For regulations on California grunion, please visit the CDFW Grunion Information PDF.

DateSeasonProbable 2-hour window
Thursday, March 1, 2018Open Season9:25 pm - 11:25 pm
Friday, March 2, 2018Open Season9:55 pm - 11:55 pm
Saturday, March 3, 2018Open Season10:30 pm - 12:30 am
Sunday, March 4, 2018Open Season11:10 pm - 1:10 am
Saturday, March 17, 2018Open Season10:25 pm - 12:25 am
Sunday, March 18, 2018Open Season11:00 pm - 1:00 am
Monday, March 19, 2018Open Season11:25 pm - 1:25 am
Tuesday, March 20, 2018Open Season11:55 pm - 1:55 am
Saturday, March 31, 2018Open Season10:00 pm - 12:00 am
Sunday, April 1, 2018Closed Season10:20 pm - 12:20 am
Monday, April 2, 2018Closed Season10:45 pm - 12:45 am
Tuesday, April 3, 2018Closed Season11:20 pm - 1:20 am
Monday, April 16, 2018Closed Season10:15 pm - 12:15 am
Tuesday, April 17, 2018Closed Season10:50 pm - 12:50 am
Wednesday, April 18, 2018Closed Season11:15 pm - 1:15 am
Thursday, April 19, 2018Closed Season12:15 am - 2:20 am
Sunday, April 29, 2018Closed Season9:40 pm - 11:40 pm
Monday, April 30, 2018Closed Season10:10 pm - 12:10 am
Tuesday, May 1, 2018Closed Season10:40 pm - 12:40 am
Wednesday, May 2, 2018Closed Season11:05 pm - 1:05 am
Tuesday, May 15, 2018Closed Season9:45 pm - 11:45 pm
Wednesday, May 16, 2018Closed Season10:25 pm - 12:25 am
Thursday, May 17, 2018Closed Season11:10 pm - 1:10 am
Friday, May 18, 2018Closed Season11:55 pm - 1:55 am
Tuesday, May 29, 2018Closed Season9:10 pm - 11:10 pm
Wednesday, May 30, 2018Closed Season10:05 pm - 12:05 am
Thursday, May 31, 2018Closed Season10:40 pm - 12:40 am
Friday, June 1, 2018Open Season11:10 pm - 1:10 am
Wednesday, June 13, 2018Open Season9:25 pm - 11:25 pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018Open Season10:10 pm - 12:10 am
Friday, June 15, 2018Open Season11:00 pm - 1:00 am
Saturday, June 16, 2018Open Season11:50 pm - 1:50 am
Thursday, June 28, 2018Open Season9:50 pm - 11:50 pm
Friday, June 29, 2018Open Season10:20 pm - 12:20 am
Saturday, June 30, 2018Open Season10:55 pm - 12:55 am
Sunday, July 1, 2018Open Season11:25 pm - 1:25 am
Thursday, July 12, 2018Open Season9:15 pm - 11:15 pm
Friday, July 13, 2018Open Season10:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday, July 14, 2018Open Season10:50 pm - 12:50 am
Sunday, July 15, 2018Open Season11:45 pm - 1:45 am
Friday, July 27, 2018Open Season9:35 pm - 11:35 pm
Saturday, July 28, 2018Open Season10:05 pm - 12:05 am
Sunday, July 29, 2018Open Season10:40 pm - 12:40 am
Monday, July 30, 2018Open Season11:40 pm - 1:40 am
Saturday, August 11, 2018Open Season9:55 pm - 11:55 pm
Sunday, August 12, 2018Open Season10:40 pm - 12:40 am
Monday, August 13, 2018Open Season11:30 pm - 1:30 am
Tuesday, August 14, 2018Open Season12:25 am - 2:25 am
Sunday, August 26, 2018Open Season9:55 pm - 11:55 pm
Monday, August 27, 2018Open Season10:25 pm - 12:25 am
Tuesday, August 28, 2018Open Season11:00 pm - 1:00 am